Films are the representative of life. The history of Indian film is very rich and is full of esthetic value. The government of India rightly decided to encourage this art by acclaiming them nationally with awards and thus they organized the country’s greatest and most prestigious award i.e., National Award, since 1954.

If we turn back the wheel of time and take a look-back at the decades which have rolled by, we would find that the Awards, which were initially called “State Awards”, had started off in a small way, with two President’s Gold Medals, two certificates of merit and silver medals for a dozen regional films. Separate awards for artistes and technicians were instituted in 1968 for the films of 1967, Nargis Dutt and Uttam Kumar being the first actress and actor to get them. Initially these were called Urvashi and Bharat Awards but the names of the Awards were later changed.

Now days the awards are given in three sections – Feature Films, Non-Feature Films and Best Writing on Cinema. No other country experiences such a vast and monetarily rewarding form year after year by the State encouragement. In turn, this has influenced and encouraged the making of good cinemas in all languages. India makes films in some twenty languages and dialects; it has also excelled in making documentaries, whether short or full length, and is awarded under different categories over the years.

The most prestigious award film ceremony of the country, the National Awards, finally stepped into its 63rd year in the year 2016 for the films of 2015. It was a galactic day for Indian Films as Amitabh Bachchan was declared the Best Actor for Piku and Kangana Ranaut bagged up the Best Actress award for Tanu Weds Manu Returns. The actress, who turned 29 last week, called it the ‘best birthday gift’, “It is the best birthday gift I could have got. I am thrilled and feel blessed especially since Mr Bachchan is the best actor with me,” Ranaut said in a statement.

Sanjay Leela Bhansali, bagged the Best Director award for Bajirao Mastani. Bhansali and dedicated his honour for “Bajirao Mastani” to his mother, saying “this is my first national award as a director it is really very special to me. My mother always prayed that I should get one and here I get it. Her prayers are answered,” Bhansali told PTI.

Yash Raj Films’ Dum Laga Ke Haisha was declared the ‘Best Hindi Film’. S.S. Rajamouli’s Baahubali was declared the Best Feature Film while Bajrangi Bhaijaan by Kabir Khan won the Best Popular Film award.

Every year, the prestigious National award, announced by a jury, set up by the Information and Broadcasting Ministry, is given away by the President for the best works as well as individual achievements which leads the best talent present in Indian Cinemas to gain the national limelight and stand out on the highest national level, for all to see.

Here is a List of Winners:


Best Film:             Baahubali – The Beginning

Best Director:      Sanjay Leela Bhansali for ‘Bajirao Mastani

Best Actor:           Amitabh Bachchan for ‘Piku’

Best Actress:        Kangana Ranaut for ‘Tanu Weds Manu Returns’

Popular Film



Entertainment:    Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Best Supporting

Actor:                        Samuthirakani for Visaaranai

Best Supporting

Actress:                    Tanvi Azmi, Bajirao Mastani

Best Hindi Film:   Dum Laga Ke Haisha

Indira Gandhi

 Award for Best

 Debut Film Of

A Director:              Neeraj Ghaywan, Masaan

Best Popular

Film:                          Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Choreography:       Remo D’Souza, Deewani Mastani song in Bajirao Mastani

Best Female

 Playback Singer:   Monali Thakur, Moh Moh Ke Dhage


Cinematography:   Sudeep Chaterjee, Bajirao Mastani

Nargis Dutt

Award for Best

 Feature Film

on National

Integration:              Nanak Shah Fakir

Best Screenplay

Writer (Original):  Juhi Chaturvedi (Piku) and Himanshu Sharma (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)

Best Screenplay

– Dialogues:               Juhi Chaturvedi (Piku) and Himanshu Sharma (Tanu Weds Manu     Returns)

Best Malayalam

Film:                            Pathemari, Best Film on Social Issue: Niranayakam


Best Music

 Direction:                 M Jayachandran for Song Kaathirunnu Kaathirunnu for the Ennu Ninte    Moideen
Best Music



Score:                          Ilaiyaraaja, Thaarai Thappattai
Best Film on



Preservation:           Valiya Chirakulla Pakshikal Best Children’s Film: Duronto


Best Tamil Film:     Visaaranai Best Telugu Film: Kanche.



~ 63rd National Award 2016 ~

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Previous articleBel-Talaar-Maath
Next articleসাদা কালো-ষষ্ঠ পর্ব
Maitree Shee
Hatpakha Reporter
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments